SSC Cancels All Spring 2020 League Competitions and Championships

SSC Cancels All Spring 2020 League Competitions and Championships

MELBOURNE, Fla. -  In alignment with yesterday's NCAA Board of Governors Resolution, the Sunshine State Conference has canceled all league competitions and championships for the spring 2020 semester, effectively immediately.

Member institutions will exercise institutional discretion as to practice and regular-season non-conference competition in all sports for the spring 2020 semester.

This decision was unanimously agreed upon by the SSC Presidents Council and SSC Athletic Directors Council with the health, safety, and wellness of our student-athletes, coaches, administrators, and campus communities in mind.

About the Sunshine State Conference

Founded in 1975, the Sunshine State Conference has risen from a single sports organization to the Division II "Conference of National Champions." Since its inception, the conference has shown steady growth in sports played, membership, and national prominence. Member institutions have won a total of 106 NCAA national championships across 12 sports. During the 2017-18 academic year, SSC schools won three national titles and achieved an NCAA Division II best 86% Academic Success Rate.

The SSC consists of 11 member institutions, all within the state of Florida: Barry University (Miami Shores), Eckerd College (St. Petersburg), Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Daytona Beach), Florida Institute of Technology (Melbourne), Florida Southern College (Lakeland), Lynn University (Boca Raton), Nova Southeastern University (Ft. Lauderdale), Palm Beach Atlantic University (West Palm Beach), Rollins College (Winter Park), Saint Leo University (Saint Leo), and the University of Tampa.