Max Jones Named SSC Freshman of the Year, First-Team All-SSC

Max Jones
Max Jones

MELBOURNE, Fla. - The Sunshine State Conference recognized 14 men's basketball student-athletes as All-SSC in 2020-21. University of Tampa freshman Max Jones was recognized as the Freshman of the Year and first-team all-league.

Saint Leo University, SSC postseason champion, boasts five All-SSC awards, including Newcomer of the Year and Coach of the Year.
Conference coaches select Jalyn Hinton of Florida Southern College as SSC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year. The 6-6 senior forward played in all 12 of Florida Southern's games this season, where he averaged 21.0 points and 10.0 rebounds in 38.0 minutes per game. Hinton is the eighth Moccasin to be honored as Player of the Year, third consecutive1. The Boston product repeats as the conference's Defensive Player of the Year after registering 7.5 defensive rebounds, 3.3 blocks, and 0.6 steals per game. He remains the second in Florida Southern history to win Defensive Player of the Year honors in men's basketball2. He is the first player in league history to win Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year accolades during their career.
All-SSC History: SSC Players and Coaches of the Year | All-SSC Teams
SLU's Lance Randall has been voted in as Coach of the Year by his peers following the Lions' first SSC tournament title. This year's Saint Leo team manufactured a league-leading 11.6 scoring margin powered by a defense that allowed only 68.5 points per game. The award is the second for Randall and the fifth for Saint Leo3.
Frank Webb of Saint Leo is tabbed Newcomer of the Year.  The senior guard from Baltimore averaged 14.8 points, 8.3 rebounds, 3.9 assists, 2.3 steals, and 30.5 minutes per game in the Lions' eight games this season. Webb was named the tournament's most outstanding player after helping Saint Leo win its first SSC postseason trophy in program history. He is the third Saint Leo player to win Newcomer of the Year, first since 2012-134.
Jones was recognized as the league's top freshman following a dominating campaign. The 6-5 guard from Clearwater, Florida, averaged 22.6 points, 3.7 rebounds, 2.6 assists, and 38.1 minutes per game across UT's seven contests. He is the sixth Spartan to win the award, first since 2018-195.
Joining Hinton, Webb, and Jones on the First Team are Sesan Russell (Florida Tech), EJ Dambreville (Florida Southern), and Dan Largey (Palm Beach Atlantic University). Hinton earns his second consecutive All-SSC honor, moving to the First Team after Second Team honors last season. PBA's Jules Jasmin earns Second Team honors this year after being awarded Newcomer Team accolades in 2019-20.
All-conference selections and individual award winners are determined by vote of Sunshine State Conference head coaches with oversight and approval from member institution Athletic Directors.
Player of the Year: Jalyn Hinton, Florida Southern
Defensive Player of the Year: Jalyn Hinton, Florida Southern
Newcomer of the Year: Frank Webb, Saint Leo
Freshman of the Year: Max Jones, Tampa
Coach of the Year: Lance Randall, Saint Leo
 2020-21 ALL-SSC Men's Basketball Honors

ALL-SSC First Team
Pos. Name School Yr. Hometown
F Jalyn Hinton*~ ‡ Florida Southern Sr. Boston, Mass.
G Sesan Russell Florida Tech Jr. London, England
G Frank Webb Saint Leo Sr. Baltimore, Md.
G Max Jones Tampa Fr. Clearwater, Fla.
G EJ Dambreville Florida Southern Jr. Dorchester, Mass.
F Dan Largey Palm Beach Atlantic Sr. Jupiter, Fla.
ALL-SSC Second Team
Pos. Name School Yr. Hometown
G Rusty Moorer Saint Leo Sr. Crestview, Fla.
F Jules Jasmin^ Palm Beach Atlantic Sr. Royal Palm Beach, Fla.
F Brandon Carroll Florida Southern Gr. Brewster, N.Y.
G Jake Kakar Barry Sr. Boston, Mass.
F Justinas Marcinkevicius Barry Jr. Kaunas, Lithuania
ALL-SSC Newcomer Team
Pos. Name School Yr. Hometown
G Frank Webb Saint Leo Sr. Baltimore, Md.
G Max Jones Tampa Fr. Clearwater, Fla.
F Cantia Rahming Saint Leo Fr. Tampa, Fla.
G Alexander Gorton Palm Beach Atlantic Jr. Jonesboro, Ark.
G Sean Houpt Florida Tech So. Danville, Ill.

* = 2019-20 All-SSC Second Team     ~ = 2019-20 All-SSC Newcomer Team
‡? = 2019-20 Defensive Player of the Year       ^ = 2019-20 All-SSC Honorable Mention
1 Brett Hanson (2020-21), Jonathan Lawton (2018-19), Kevin Capers (2013-14 & 2014-15), John Thompson (2009-10), Chris Brooks (2003-04), Christophe Humbert (2000-01), Innocent Kere (1999-00), Corey Turner (1998-99)
2 Jarel Spellman (2016-17)
3 Lance Randall (2011-12), Gary Richert (1983-84 & 1987-88), Norm Kaye (1976-77)
4 Trent Thomas (2011-12), Jarrel Harris (2012-13)
5 Marco Downer (2018-19), Pat Bacon (2015-16), Rob Brooks (1990-91), Matt Streff (1989-90), Fred Lewis (1987-88)